RSS

Welcome To My Newest Endeavor

10 Mar

My name is Sam, I am 35 and live in Kansas. I have been drinking scotch since my first time trying alcohol. I won’t mention my age when I started, but I will mention the brand. It was Cutty Sark, and at the time it was awesome. Until the next morning anyway.

I was reintroduced by my father-in law, Rick, about 15 years ago, and my love affair with Scotch has flourished. When he and I started it was Chivas Regal, which is a decent blended scotch.

It wasn’t until I moved to Virginia that I really got into it. I was living in Charlottesville, and visiting the downtown mall. The downtown mall is the old downtown area about 9-10 blocks long with an Ice Rink at one end and an Amphitheater at the other. There are a myriad of bookstores, antique shops, restaurants, bars, and other kitschy shops. It is culture at its best .

My Lovely wife and I were on one of our treasured date nights and decided to dine at the Blue Light Grill. After we ordered I saw a drink menu and picked it up to peruse it while we waited. I came across The Glenlivet 15, I promptly ordered this on the rocks. I know now that this is not the way to “properly” drink it, but I was just starting to get my feet wet. I did however, enjoy every bit of it.

A few years later we moved back to Kansas and closer to my father-in-law. That’s when I really got into Scotch, I started with a bottle of The Glenlivet 18 and have since, with the help of Rick, traveled through every expression they have. I have not had The Glenlivet 70. That’s the dream though. Anybody reading this care to share a glass, I’ll bring the glasses.

Once we had been through the Glenlivet line we almost stopped drinking scotch, but more on that a little later. I switched to Bourbon and invited Rick along for the ride, whom by the way had an aversion to bourbon due to an incident earlier in life, but trusting my judgement got in and went along with me anyway. I should say that my other love has always been Bourbon. I preferred Jack Daniels and Jim Beam, but when pressed I would never turn down a glass of Crown Royal. I know I just went north of Kentucky, but I want to get across that Whiskey in all of its forms calls to me.

My trip down bourbon lane was started because of a select brand called Pappy Van Winkle. I have been wanting to try Pappy Van Winkle for years now, and it is still on the bucket list, but because of its’ rarity I haven’t yet had the privilege, again I will bring the glasses. At this point I should point out that it was my lovely wife, who indulges me in just about everything, that bought me my first four bottles of “Top Shelf” Bourbon. Rick and I started critiquing and keeping a written journal as we drank them. We have since been through quite a few bottles and it’s been fun.

We are getting back into Scotch again thanks to a customer of mine that introduced me to Glenfiddich 12-year-old. Wow what a bottle! I couldn’t believe it was a 12. I recently celebrated my 35th birthday and Rick decided to treat me to a bottle of my choice. I grabbed the Glenfiddich 15. We were amazed, it was in our opinion just as good if not better than the The Glenlivet 21. That also is another post. My intro, like my cup, does runneth over.

Let me end here by saying that on May 1st 2015, Rick and I are going to Dallas for the Whisky Extravaganza. We hope to get a real feel for our hobby and to meet other enthusiasts. Stay Tuned

Slàinte Mhath! 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2015 in Bourbon, Scotch

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Welcome To My Newest Endeavor

  1. Whisky Waffle

    March 15, 2015 at 7:54 am

    Hey Sam! Welcome to the online whisky community! It’s great to be able to meet up with like-minded people and hear their opinions – especially another Glenfiddich-15 year old lover!
    I hope that the Whisky Extravaganza event is great, and good luck with future blogging!
    Keep on waffling,
    Nick

    Like

     
    • samuelstyve

      March 15, 2015 at 4:26 pm

      Thanks Nick. It really is great to meet like minded people.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Everything Kentucky!

This site is about the state of Kentucky, the people, places, history and happenings.

whiskyforager

Deals, worldwide.

Copper Run Distillery

Copper Run Distillery is the first legal distillery in the Ozark Mountains since the prohibition ended in 1933

the mashtun

malt's the wort

The Southern Lady Cooks

Southern cooking is just plain good home cooking!

dragonmoonshine

Put some fire in your belly...

Waterfront Whisky

Whisky, Wine & Spirits Blog - Cape Town, South Africa

OCDWHISKY

My Whisky Thoughts

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Canuck Whisky Lover

a Canuck's thoughts and reviews on Whisky in all it's Glory

West Fork Whiskey Co.

Indiana Craft Whiskey Distillery

Contrafactual

That which is not true, but could be true under certain conditions.

Whiskey On The Rails

Two Guys Who Enjoy Tasting Whiskey, Smoking Cigars and Finding New Ways To Enjoy Both

The Amateur Drammer

Whisky Reviews, News and Opinions.

The Damn Dram

Bad days good whisky

Highball Hoodoo

London, Cocktails, you know the drill

barelyenough

...too much good whisky is barely enough...

Beneath the Bung

A close look at the amazing drink of Single Malt Whisky.

DrinkingKAKIS

LIVE TO DRINK

