RSS

My Re-Introduction

13 Mar

   I have been racking my brain for the last two days trying to figure out where to go next. It suddenly dawned on me why not start at my reintroduction.

   My reproduction of scotch began when I was 21. Rick had a bottle of Chivas Regal that he kept on top of the fridge for New Year’s. Up to this point I have been strictly a Bourbon man. I’ve also been a “Don’t turn it down if it’s offered to you” man. So, when your future father-in-law offer you a glass of scotch you don’t turn it down. I found that I really, really enjoyed it. 

   After the birth of my first son, Rick took me out to celebrate. He called it “Getting a bite to eat”. I won’t tell you what my wife called me later that night, actually she was quite laid-back about it given the circumstances. That night we went to a local bar and as we walked in Rick announced that I was a new father. We now had a bar tab that we had not even put a dollar on yet. I proceeded to drink shot after shot of Chivas Regal, beer, bourbon, and whatever else at the time was bought for me. As most of my readers can already guess, I was quite sick when we left the bar three hours later.Rick tells the story better than I do and at some point I may try to get him on here to tell the story so for now I’ll just say we had to wash the side of his van. 

   Even with getting sick, I knew at that point that I was a Scotch man. I feel a good background is a key component in any story which is why I told you mine. I did the story by dictation to my iPhone so please forgive any errors. 

Slàinte Mhath

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 13, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “My Re-Introduction

  1. Whisky Waffle

    March 15, 2015 at 10:28 pm

    A birth of a child is perhaps the most valid reason for getting into whisky as there can be! In fact, it sounds like an excuse to finally crack that 25 year old expression you’ve been saving… Hmm…. I shall bear this in mind for future children-themed ambitions…
    Keep on waffling,
    Nick

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
Everything Kentucky!

This site is about the state of Kentucky, the people, places, history and happenings.

Midleton Rared

Triple Distilled Communications

whiskyforager

Deals, worldwide.

Copper Run Distillery

Copper Run Distillery is the first legal distillery in the Ozark Mountains since the prohibition ended in 1933

the mashtun

malt's the wort

The Southern Lady Cooks

Southern cooking is just plain good home cooking!

dragonmoonshine

Put some fire in your belly...

Waterfront Whisky

Whisky, Wine & Spirits Blog - Cape Town, South Africa

OCDWHISKY

My Whisky Thoughts

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Canuck Whisky Lover

a Canuck's thoughts and reviews on Whisky in all it's Glory

West Fork Whiskey Co.

Indiana Craft Whiskey Distillery

Contrafactual

That which is not true, but could be true under certain conditions.

Whiskey On The Rails

Two Guys Who Enjoy Tasting Whiskey, Smoking Cigars and Finding New Ways To Enjoy Both

The Amateur Drammer

Single malted whisky musings from the mind of The Amateur Drammer

The Damn Dram

Bad days good whisky

Highball Hoodoo

London, Cocktails, you know the drill

barelyenough

...too much good whisky is barely enough...

Beneath the Bung

A close look at the amazing drink of Single Malt Whisky.

DrinkingKAKIS

LIVE TO DRINK

