RSS

REVIEW: Bushmills Original

14 Apr
REVIEW: Bushmills Original

Color: Pale Golden Hue

Nose: Mostly Vanilla Bean, Oak, and Hints of Citrus

Taste: Sweet Vanilla, Spice, Oak, and Citrus

Finish: Smooth finish, Spice, and just the slightest burn

Score: I will not be scoring this as it is the first Irish whiskey I have had. I have Nothing to Compare it to

I was out the other night with the wife celebrating our 14th anniversary. While at the bar perusing the drinks menu, and coming up with nothing new, I saw the section marked “Irish Whiskey”. I skipped it at first because I was in the mood for scotch or even a good Bourbon. Unfortunately the pickings were quite slim, and I found my eyes wandering back to the Irish whiskey. I had a choice of Bushmills and Jameson. I decided to go with the Bushmills.

After reading my review I decided to come back here and state for the record that I did enjoy this, it just didn’t have the depth I was looking for. Please keep that in mind as you read further.

The whiskey is a pale golden color, almost as if it hasn’t matured long enough. Again, I only have scotch and bourbon to compare it to, so please don’t get upset. I found the nose to be quite pleasant. It smelled strongly of Vanilla Bean, with a little oak and citrus dancing at the edges. Not the best smell, but not the worst either.

The first sip and the sweet vanilla skates lightly across the tongue, pulling the oak along with it. The citrus and spice show up a little late to the party, but they eventually make it. I would have to say that this felt like more of a beginner whiskey. Something for the first time whiskey drinker. Not to complex, but enough fun that you want to come back and try it again.

The finish was short and sweet. I can’t say much else for it. I did enjoy it, I was just looking for more. But seeing as I did start at the beginning, I think I am going to have to move up to find what I am looking for.

I welcome your thoughts and opinions. Suggestions are welcome too.

Until Next Time,

Slàinte Mhath!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2015 in Irish, Reviews, whiskey

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “REVIEW: Bushmills Original

  1. H.W. MacNaughton

    April 15, 2015 at 1:47 am

    A good description of the classic. And that’s coincidence I just put up my review of (what we call here in the US) Bushmills White. Different label. Agreed, it is a light easy-drinking whisky. My wife, who is taking slowly to my more esoteric Scotch picks (Ardbeg, Laphroig, Lagavulin) absolutely loves this stuff. Although lightweight, it is completely inoffensive. Would welcome your POV, please drop by: http://wp.me/p4S3cq-4U

    Like

     
    • samuelstyve

      April 15, 2015 at 1:49 am

      I’m here in the U.S. too. I just forgot to snap a picture so I grabbed a stock image.

      Like

       
      • H.W. MacNaughton

        April 15, 2015 at 1:54 am

        Well then, my fellow American, if you find yourself in the mossy NW let me know, we’ll have some drams to taste.

        Like

         
      • samuelstyve

        April 15, 2015 at 2:20 am

        Sounds good my friend. I moved away from Virginia 8 years ago but I do miss it!

        Like

         
  2. Whiskey Nut

    April 15, 2015 at 9:37 pm

    Welcome to the world of Irish Whiskey Sam and MacN. I had a dram of the Bushmills White just to revisit the taste and have to agree with your comments. It is very representative of many an entry level blend from Irish whiskey distillers. Kilbeggan, Lockes, Tyrconnel, Jameson, Powers is slightly more spicy, Paddys. All more or less on the same level. For more depth you need to try Teeling Small Batch. Basic blend but rum finished or Crested Ten, pot still blend but with bite. I don’t know what is available in the US but one I like from that market is the Michael Collins Blend – now discontinued but worth getting hold of – as it ups the spices element. Thoroughly enjoyable.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
Everything Kentucky!

This site is about the state of Kentucky, the people, places, history and happenings.

whiskyforager

Deals, worldwide.

Copper Run Distillery

Copper Run Distillery is the first legal distillery in the Ozark Mountains since the prohibition ended in 1933

the mashtun

malt's the wort

The Southern Lady Cooks

Southern cooking is just plain good home cooking!

dragonmoonshine

Put some fire in your belly...

Waterfront Whisky

Whisky, Wine & Spirits Blog - Cape Town, South Africa

OCDWHISKY

My Whisky Thoughts

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Canuck Whisky Lover

a Canuck's thoughts and reviews on Whisky in all it's Glory

West Fork Whiskey Co.

Indiana Craft Whiskey Distillery

Contrafactual

That which is not true, but could be true under certain conditions.

Whiskey On The Rails

Two Guys Who Enjoy Tasting Whiskey, Smoking Cigars and Finding New Ways To Enjoy Both

The Amateur Drammer

Whisky Reviews, News and Opinions.

The Damn Dram

Bad days good whisky

Highball Hoodoo

London, Cocktails, you know the drill

barelyenough

...too much good whisky is barely enough...

Beneath the Bung

A close look at the amazing drink of Single Malt Whisky.

DrinkingKAKIS

LIVE TO DRINK

