RSS

REVIEW: PINCKNEY BEND RESTED AMERICAN WHISKEY

30 Apr
REVIEW: PINCKNEY BEND RESTED AMERICAN WHISKEY

DISCLAIMER: The Sample for this review was provided by the manufacturer. All ideas and opinions in this post are entirely my own. I do not accept any money for these reviews.

Color: Tawny
Nose: Honey, Sweet Corn, Cinnamon Spice, Vanilla, Caramel, Dark Fruits, Green Apple
Taste: Corn, Vanilla, Cinnamon and Peppercorn Spice, Apple, Dark Fruits, Charred Oak, with hints of citrus and a bit of warmth.
Finish: Long smooth finish with a bit of spice and some decent heat
Score:
Rick – 9.25/10.0
Sam – 9.25/10.0
Overall – 9.25/10.0
I can see now why these guys at Pinckney Bend won double gold. I worry that I won’t do them justice. This is hands down the best Whiskey I have had in a while. Not the best, but top 5 for sure. The amazing part it is a rested whiskey, in the barrel for less than a year. I’d put this in a blind tasting against bourbon and I think you’d be hard pressed to tell the difference.

The guys at Pinckney Bend did me a great honor sending me this. Being as they are my next door neighbor, I might have take that 5 hour drive across the border to go see them in person, they have a Port Cask Finish that I am now really want to try. I know I am gushing a little, but this really was that good. On to the review before I embarrass myself more!

The nose on this is sublime. There’s no fight for dominance, just a harmonious blend of aromas that seduce you into taking another whiff. The biggest problem was trying to draw out each note one at a time. The honey, sweet corn, cinnamon spice, vanilla, caramel, raisins, plums, and green apple all come at once to greet you. I expected a little alcohol burn from a 100 proof, but it wasn’t bad at all.

The first sip starts out with a nice corn flavor, not to sweet, and is followed by the rest. The flavors are quite easy to pick out on the tongue, they don’t meld together, it is like they are dancing, sometimes together, other times apart, but always in perfect rhythm. The charred oak is a surprise seeing that it is barely in the barrel, but it does nicely. I was really expecting a sweeter whiskey, but was pleasantly let down. If you have read my blog, I really don’t care for overly sweet whiskey.

The spicy charred oak finish again was a surprise from a 100 proof bottle. I did expect more of a kick, and to be honest this was a bit of a let down. I like a nice mule kick on the swallow. It had some decent heat, but it was so smooth that I almost missed it.

Rick and I both will be buying a bottle of this in the future. We’d recommend you buy one too.

I welcome your thoughts and opinions. Review suggestions are welcome.

Until Next Time,

Slàinte Mhath!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 30, 2015 in Reviews, whiskey

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Everything Kentucky!

This site is about the state of Kentucky, the people, places, history and happenings.

whiskyforager

Deals, worldwide.

Copper Run Distillery

Copper Run Distillery is the first legal distillery in the Ozark Mountains since the prohibition ended in 1933

the mashtun

malt's the wort

The Southern Lady Cooks

Southern cooking is just plain good home cooking!

dragonmoonshine

Put some fire in your belly...

Waterfront Whisky

Whisky, Wine & Spirits Blog - Cape Town, South Africa

OCDWHISKY

My Whisky Thoughts

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Canuck Whisky Lover

a Canuck's thoughts and reviews on Whisky in all it's Glory

West Fork Whiskey Co.

Indiana Craft Whiskey Distillery

Contrafactual

That which is not true, but could be true under certain conditions.

Whiskey On The Rails

Two Guys Who Enjoy Tasting Whiskey, Smoking Cigars and Finding New Ways To Enjoy Both

The Amateur Drammer

Whisky Reviews, News and Opinions.

The Damn Dram

Bad days good whisky

Highball Hoodoo

London, Cocktails, you know the drill

barelyenough

...too much good whisky is barely enough...

Beneath the Bung

A close look at the amazing drink of Single Malt Whisky.

DrinkingKAKIS

LIVE TO DRINK

