RSS

REVIEW: FEW SPIRITS BOURBON

06 May
REVIEW: FEW SPIRITS BOURBON

Color: Dark Copper
Nose: Sweet Corn, Spice, Vanilla, Anise, and Caramel
Taste: Corn, Charred Oak, Something Herbal, with hints of citrus and a bit of warmth.
Finish: Long Herbal finish with spice and heat
Score:
Rick- 6.25/10.0
Sam- 8.25/10.0
Overall- 7.25/10.0
Rick and I were split on this one. I thought it was decent. He didn’t care for it much. It’s different, probably from the Minnesota Oak that it is aged in. It has an almost herbal gin undertone to it that just kind of throws it off. I wouldn’t turn down a glass if offered, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to purchase it either.

The color was a surprise, it has the look of a well aged bourbon. I was kind of excited when I looked at it. I like dark Bourbons, they seem to have better flavor.

The nose was really good on this, the kind of nose you would expect from a good bourbon. The herbal notes were there, but more of a background note. undetectable until after the first sip. Then it becomes more noticeable.

The first taste starts out really good, sweet corn and charred oak seem to push to the front. Then the herbal note makes its entrance completely surprising the taste buds. It wasn’t expected. I like to go blind into tastings. I don’t read reviews or research, because I don’t want other opinions to sway me. I Think , that if I had been ready for the herbal note I would have liked it more. It was just so different from what I am used to that it detracted from the bourbon. Not a bad flavor by any means, just out of my comfort zone. Ice mellows the herbal note out some making it better to me.
The finish has a strong Herbal note that seems to stick around. It’s almost like Gin. I’m not a big fan of gin, it’s just one of those things that I can say I tried.

If you like gin, or just wanting to try something different. go for it. It is definitely a new experience. I wouldn’t turn it down, I’d just ask for ice. THis is my last FEW review for now. I did try their Gin and Single Malt, but I didn’t care for them so I am going to leave it at this. Thanks to the folks at FEW Spirits for providing the samples for these reviews. I hope we can work together again in the future.

I welcome your thoughts and opinions. Review suggestions are welcome.

Until Next Time,

Slàinte Mhath!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2015 in Bourbon, Reviews, whiskey

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “REVIEW: FEW SPIRITS BOURBON

  1. H.W. MacNaughton

    May 6, 2015 at 3:16 am

    Hey Samuel, is there rye in that bourbon or do you think all the herbal note is from the wood? Anyway, your description reminds me of a whiskey I bought from a Seattle bottler that hunts down single casks. With no mixing you can get some pretty strong — and strange — tastes.

    Like

     
    • samuelstyve

      May 6, 2015 at 3:44 am

      From the reading I’ve done, it comes from the wood. The barrels they use are known for giving the whiskey different character.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Everything Kentucky!

This site is about the state of Kentucky, the people, places, history and happenings.

Midleton Rared

Triple Distilled Communications

whiskyforager

Deals, worldwide.

Copper Run Distillery

Copper Run Distillery is the first legal distillery in the Ozark Mountains since the prohibition ended in 1933

the mashtun

malt's the wort

The Southern Lady Cooks

Southern cooking is just plain good home cooking!

dragonmoonshine

Put some fire in your belly...

Waterfront Whisky

Whisky, Wine & Spirits Blog - Cape Town, South Africa

OCDWHISKY

My Whisky Thoughts

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Canuck Whisky Lover

a Canuck's thoughts and reviews on Whisky in all it's Glory

West Fork Whiskey Co.

Indiana Craft Whiskey Distillery

Contrafactual

That which is not true, but could be true under certain conditions.

Whiskey On The Rails

Two Guys Who Enjoy Tasting Whiskey, Smoking Cigars and Finding New Ways To Enjoy Both

The Amateur Drammer

Single malted whisky musings from the mind of The Amateur Drammer

The Damn Dram

Bad days good whisky

Highball Hoodoo

London, Cocktails, you know the drill

barelyenough

...too much good whisky is barely enough...

Beneath the Bung

A close look at the amazing drink of Single Malt Whisky.

DrinkingKAKIS

LIVE TO DRINK

