RSS

REVIEW: FOUR ROSES SINGLE BARREL

05 Jun
REVIEW: FOUR ROSES SINGLE BARREL

DISCLAIMER: The Sample for this review was provided by the manufacturer. All ideas and opinions in this post are entirely my own. I do not accept any money for these reviews.

Color: Deep Copper

Nose: Alcohol, Corn, Oak

Taste: Sweet Corn, Caramel, Vanilla, Pepper, Oak, Green Apple, Orange, and Pecan

Finish: Long smooth finish with oak and butterscotch

Score:
Rick- 8.0/10.0
Sam- 8.5/10.0
Overall- 8.25/10.0

Thanks to the beautiful folks at Four Roses for yet another wonderful dram. I love that they continue to feed my obsession. Four Roses is one of my go to’s for when I go to the bar and order Bourbon. They really make a great Bourbon, and when I am at the bar I want something that tastes good but won’t break the bank. My local bar has this and the small batch and it is what I order when I go.

I realize that Four Roses makes a couple different expressions of their single barrel. Unfortunately these sample bottles did not come with the neck tag to tell me. So if what you have tastes a little different, that is why. On to the review.

The nose on this starts off with a very heavy alcohol kick. This is a bit of an anomaly, one that was helped by letting it sit for a few minutes. I also found that adding a small hit of water would open up the nose too. After letting it rest I was able to get a better bouquet from it. The aromas balance out nicely once it has had time to rest, the aroma is what you’d expect from Four Roses. I am going to chalk this up to the small sample bottle.

The flavors aren’t affected at all. The sweet corn, caramel, and vanilla are the first to greet the tongue, followed by the green apple and orange. The pecan, oak, and pepper finish out the flavor profile. This is what you would expect from a great mainstream Bourbon. It is very balanced on the tongue, none of the flavors try to jump up for a solo, they seem to mix on the palette in a very nice symphony.

The finish is long and smooth with oak and butterscotch being the prevailing notes. It doesn’t have the bite that I like from Bourbon. It is one of the smoothest Bourbons I have had. The addition of water makes it go down like honey.

I wouldn’t mind having a bottle of this in the cabinet. I’d definitely recommend it to someone looking for a good pour. Like I said earlier they carry this at my local establishment and when I pop my head in it is what I order.

I welcome your thoughts and opinions. Review suggestions are welcome.

Until Next Time,

Slàinte Mhath!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 5, 2015 in Bourbon, Reviews, whiskey

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Everything Kentucky!

This site is about the state of Kentucky, the people, places, history and happenings.

whiskyforager

Deals, worldwide.

Copper Run Distillery

Copper Run Distillery is the first legal distillery in the Ozark Mountains since the prohibition ended in 1933

the mashtun

malt's the wort

The Southern Lady Cooks

Southern cooking is just plain good home cooking!

dragonmoonshine

Put some fire in your belly...

Waterfront Whisky

Whisky, Wine & Spirits Blog - Cape Town, South Africa

OCDWHISKY

My Whisky Thoughts

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Canuck Whisky Lover

a Canuck's thoughts and reviews on Whisky in all it's Glory

West Fork Whiskey Co.

Indiana Craft Whiskey Distillery

Contrafactual

That which is not true, but could be true under certain conditions.

Whiskey On The Rails

Two Guys Who Enjoy Tasting Whiskey, Smoking Cigars and Finding New Ways To Enjoy Both

The Amateur Drammer

Whisky Reviews, News and Opinions.

The Damn Dram

Bad days good whisky

Highball Hoodoo

London, Cocktails, you know the drill

barelyenough

...too much good whisky is barely enough...

Beneath the Bung

A close look at the amazing drink of Single Malt Whisky.

DrinkingKAKIS

LIVE TO DRINK

