RSS

REVIEW: ALBERT G’s BBQ and BAR

30 Jun
REVIEW: ALBERT G’s BBQ and BAR

This is a first for me, as I usually review Scotch and Bourbon, But when you find a golden nugget like this you just have to share it. This is a review of an outstanding BBQ joint in Tulsa, Oklahoma. I originally went to a place up the street called Whiskey Business, but sadly they didn’t have anything I couldn’t live without. The gentleman working there kindly directed me to Albert G’s, which is just right down the street. The first time I went in I spoke to Tyler, who unfortunately is leaving for the higher elevations (No pun intended) of Colorado. In the 15 minutes I talked to him I could tell that he was knowledgeable, a Bourbonite, and very well spoken. They have around 115 different bottles of bourbon and American Whiskey on their shelves a long with at least six barrel aged cocktails. I was extremely tempted to belly up to the bar and never leave, but sadly it was eleven o’clock in the morning and a little to early to drink, so I promised to come back later in the evening.

IMG_9281[1]

Shannon and I at Albert G’s

When I came back I met Shannon. He’s a no nonsense tell you how it is kind of guy. We bantered back and forth for a bit, before I made my selections for my flight. There were so many to try, and I had to narrow it down to four. It took a bit of discussion, and a lot of pondering, but I finally got it. Shannon said it was probably the best Flight he has ever built except for one exception. We both agreed after the fact that the one exception would have to be made. I originally had Jim Beam Distillers Masterpiece, Orphan Barrel Rhetoric, Booker’s Bourbon Dot’s Batch, and Wild turkey Diamond Anniversary. I really wasn’t all that impressed with the Jim Beam, and would much rather replace it with the Jefferson’s Ocean. Which I ordered after my flight. These reviews will be coming over the next couple weeks as well. It was a great night. Next time I will have to try the food.

IMG_9280[1]

Me with the original flight

If you are a Bourbonite living in Tulsa, or just visiting you gotta check this place out. They are also getting a Bourbon Club going. I’ll let you know more as I find out. When you order the flight make it:

  1. Wild Turkey Diamond Anniversary
  2. Booker’s Bourbon Dot’s Batch
  3. Jefferson’s Ocean
  4. Orphan Barrel Rhetoric

Shannon if you are reading this we need to name this flight after me! Maybe the Bourbonite Flight?

I welcome your thoughts and opinions. Review suggestions are welcome.

Contact info can be found HERE Don’t forget to like us on Facebook!

Until Next Time,

Slàinte Mhath!

.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 30, 2015 in Bar, Bourbon, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Everything Kentucky!

This site is about the state of Kentucky, the people, places, history and happenings.

whiskyforager

Deals, worldwide.

Copper Run Distillery

Copper Run Distillery is the first legal distillery in the Ozark Mountains since the prohibition ended in 1933

the mashtun

malt's the wort

The Southern Lady Cooks

Southern cooking is just plain good home cooking!

dragonmoonshine

Put some fire in your belly...

Waterfront Whisky

Whisky, Wine & Spirits Blog - Cape Town, South Africa

OCDWHISKY

My Whisky Thoughts

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Canuck Whisky Lover

a Canuck's thoughts and reviews on Whisky in all it's Glory

West Fork Whiskey Co.

Indiana Craft Whiskey Distillery

Contrafactual

That which is not true, but could be true under certain conditions.

Whiskey On The Rails

Two Guys Who Enjoy Tasting Whiskey, Smoking Cigars and Finding New Ways To Enjoy Both

The Amateur Drammer

Single malted whisky musings from the mind of The Amateur Drammer

The Damn Dram

Bad days good whisky

Highball Hoodoo

London, Cocktails, you know the drill

barelyenough

...too much good whisky is barely enough...

Beneath the Bung

A close look at the amazing drink of Single Malt Whisky.

DrinkingKAKIS

LIVE TO DRINK

