RSS

Review: Van Brunt Stillhouse Bourbon, and two honorable mentions

28 Jul
Review: Van Brunt Stillhouse Bourbon, and two honorable mentions

 

DISCLAIMER: The Sample for this review was provided by the manufacturer. All ideas and opinions in this post are entirely my own. I do not accept any money for these reviews.

Color: Burnished Copper

Nose: Pepper, Vanilla, Corn, Cinnamon, and Oak

Taste: Corn, Vanilla, Spice, and Oak

Finish: Long Fruit finish with cherry, oak and hints of vanilla

Score:
Rick- 8.5/10.0
Sam- 8.5/10.0
Overall- 8.5/10.0

VBS

A northern Bourbon? From New York? In Brooklyn!!! Yes, it’s all true. The Folks at Van Brunt Stillhouse are producing a lot more than just Bourbon though. They also have an American Whiskey and a Single Malt, the first wasn’t great, and the latter wasn’t Scotch. I know, I am kind of a whiskey snob. Every time I see single malt I think Scotch, and every time I am disappointed. It isn’t their fault, I’m just a bit biased. By all means give the American and the Single malt a try. I just don’t feel I could do a write up on them that would do them justice. They also make a rye, which I didn’t get, but I will be on the lookout for.

Back to the Bourbon. This is a wheated bourbon, made with 65% organic New York corn. The wheat really shine though lending this Bourbon a sweet profile. When first poured it has a very spicy pepper aroma, but if you swirl it it your glass it open up beautifully. The vanilla and corn come forward pushing past the pepper, the cinnamon and oak seem to mix with the pepper. Not the most complex nose, but the swirl needed to open it up is different.

With all that peppery nose I was expecting this to have some kick, but sadly it was quite understated. The sweetness of the wheat pushed its’ way to the front followed by the vanilla, and left the pepper just barely coming through. The oak was still there but the cinnamon that was on the nose never made an appearance. I wasn’t dismayed by the flavor at all though, it was really good. I would rather that the nose and the taste be a bit more synchronous.

The finish was a bit oaky, and the pepper came back in to play a bit which I found very satisfying. It gave this a bit of bite on the way down, that I wasn’t expecting. Not the kick that I love, but just enough to push it a little higher than I would have otherwise rated it.

I won’t say this is one for the shelf. Not enough complexity. I would not turn it down and if it was a choice between this and beer I’d definitely choose this. If you have had it let us know, we’d love to hear your thoughts on it.

I welcome your thoughts and opinions. Review suggestions are welcome.

Contact info can be found HERE Don’t forget to like us on Facebook!

Until Next Time,

Slàinte Mhath!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 28, 2015 in Bourbon, Reviews, whiskey

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Everything Kentucky!

This site is about the state of Kentucky, the people, places, history and happenings.

whiskyforager

Deals, worldwide.

Copper Run Distillery

Copper Run Distillery is the first legal distillery in the Ozark Mountains since the prohibition ended in 1933

the mashtun

malt's the wort

The Southern Lady Cooks

Southern cooking is just plain good home cooking!

dragonmoonshine

Put some fire in your belly...

Waterfront Whisky

Whisky, Wine & Spirits Blog - Cape Town, South Africa

OCDWHISKY

My Whisky Thoughts

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Canuck Whisky Lover

a Canuck's thoughts and reviews on Whisky in all it's Glory

West Fork Whiskey Co.

Indiana Craft Whiskey Distillery

Contrafactual

That which is not true, but could be true under certain conditions.

Whiskey On The Rails

Two Guys Who Enjoy Tasting Whiskey, Smoking Cigars and Finding New Ways To Enjoy Both

The Amateur Drammer

Whisky Reviews, News and Opinions.

The Damn Dram

Bad days good whisky

Highball Hoodoo

London, Cocktails, you know the drill

barelyenough

...too much good whisky is barely enough...

Beneath the Bung

A close look at the amazing drink of Single Malt Whisky.

DrinkingKAKIS

LIVE TO DRINK

