RSS

REVIEW: WHEAT STATE DISTILLING AGE YOUR OWN BOURBON KIT – iNTRO

09 Oct
REVIEW: WHEAT STATE DISTILLING AGE YOUR OWN BOURBON KIT – iNTRO

I have been forced (willingly) to take the next logical step in my whiskey education. My birthday is in a couple of days, and my wife being the woman she is, always tries to find that one special thing for me. She says that I am hard to shop for. Apparently, my “refined” tastes make it somewhat of a challenge. Well, I think she really took up the mantle this year. She has really outdone herself! Thank you so much my dear, it is perfect!

I know, I know, “Get to it already!”

This year she got me an age your own bourbon kit from Wheat State Distilling, right here in Kansas.In the picture below you can see that it comes with two 750ml bottles of really fresh (distilled 10-07-15) Bourbon, bottled at 125 proof. It also come with a 2 liter barrel, with bung cork and a small spout for tasting as it ages. Lastly, it comes with two tasting glasses. All of this is embossed with the “WSD” logo. The gentleman who sold it to her said that he can also have the barrel tops custom branded if you give them a week or two notice. I’m glad mine isn’t though, because depending on how this turns out I may try other distilleries too, and start a collection of mini-barrels from the distilleries that offer these. I just did a quick google search, and there are plenty! I can already see my wife reading this, and thinking “What I have I started?!?”

wsd

I’ll be filling the barrel Saturday, right now I am prepping the barrel by filling it with hot distilled water to swell the barrel. I originally was going to use tap water, but though better of it, because I don’t want any chemical contaminants in the barrel. I want the spirits to shine through, not the chlorine and fluoride! The directions say to place the spout is first, which makes sense to me. Afterwards, fill it with hot water and allow it to swell until it stops leaking, which can take anything from one hour to a few days. So, after a little begging, because my birthday isn’t technically until Monday, I was able to talk my wife into letting me prep the barrel last night. I am contemplating using some of the distilled water that is in the barrel to top off the Bourbon, but haven’t decided yet. I like higher proof whiskey, and I don’t know if I want to mess with experimentation my first time.

The plan is to have a small tasting of the new make Bourbon, and then to fill the barrel and revisit it every 2 weeks. I figure doing it this way we’ll be able to get an idea of the aging process. I don’t have a set amount of time that I will age it, just until it’s good! I hope you will follow along on our journey!

I welcome your thoughts and opinions. Review suggestions are welcome.

Contact info can be found HERE and don’t forget to follow us on FACEBOOK and TWITTER!

Until Next Time,

Slàinte Mhath!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 9, 2015 in Age Your Own, Bourbon, Reviews, whiskey

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “REVIEW: WHEAT STATE DISTILLING AGE YOUR OWN BOURBON KIT – iNTRO

Leave a Reply

 
Everything Kentucky!

This site is about the state of Kentucky, the people, places, history and happenings.

Midleton Rared

Triple Distilled Communications

whiskyforager

Deals, worldwide.

Copper Run Distillery

Copper Run Distillery is the first legal distillery in the Ozark Mountains since the prohibition ended in 1933

the mashtun

malt's the wort

The Southern Lady Cooks

Southern cooking is just plain good home cooking!

dragonmoonshine

Put some fire in your belly...

Waterfront Whisky

Whisky, Wine & Spirits Blog - Cape Town, South Africa

OCDWHISKY

My Whisky Thoughts

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Canuck Whisky Lover

a Canuck's thoughts and reviews on Whisky in all it's Glory

West Fork Whiskey Co.

Indiana Craft Whiskey Distillery

Contrafactual

That which is not true, but could be true under certain conditions.

Whiskey On The Rails

Two Guys Who Enjoy Tasting Whiskey, Smoking Cigars and Finding New Ways To Enjoy Both

The Amateur Drammer

Single malted whisky musings from the mind of The Amateur Drammer

The Damn Dram

Bad days good whisky

Highball Hoodoo

London, Cocktails, you know the drill

barelyenough

...too much good whisky is barely enough...

Beneath the Bung

A close look at the amazing drink of Single Malt Whisky.

DrinkingKAKIS

LIVE TO DRINK

