RSS

Review: Angels Envy

22 Jan
Review: Angels Envy

DISCLAIMER: The Sample for this review was provided by the distiller. All ideas and opinions in this post are entirely my own. I do not accept any money for these reviews.

Color: Copper

Nose: Sweet Corn, Vanilla, Port, Maple, Black Pepper, Citrus, Black Cherry, molasses, and oak

Taste: Sweet Corn, Caramel, Vanilla, Port, Black Pepper, Citrus, Black Cherry, and oak

 Finish: Long, sweet, and smooth

Score: 
Rick: 9. 5/10.0
Sam: 9. 5/10.0
Overall: 9. 5/10.0

Thanks to the folks at Angels Envy for this fine bottle. I had seen this on the shelves a time or two, but never gave it more than a glance. It is a very cool bottle, but I’ll be honest I hadn’t heard a lot about it and the price was a bit high at the time, nearly $90, for an unknown. When I finally got around to hearing about it, I couldn’t find anything but a label showing where it once sat on the now empty shelf. The price had also dropped to $45-$60 dollars. Alas, it was elusive. Lucky for me the folks at Angels Envy took pity.

This is now one of my favorite Bourbons. It is complex and layered with a balance I don’t normally find in bourbon. The nose is a complex but also quite forward, none of the aromatics seem to fall to the background, or rush at you all at once. It is a lively procession of aromas marching past and teasing the olfactory.

The first sip starts off sweet with vanilla and black cherries, then morphs in to black pepper, citrus and spice with a bit of port wine dryness. The liquid begs to be rolled around the entire mouth to experience each nuance and flavor there is. The only down fall is the finish. It is lingering finish that is sweet and spicy with a hint of dryness that is outstanding. The downside is that it is so smooth that there is no burn or bite at all. I find that a deficiency when I drink whisk(e)y. Not an utter let down, but a bit of a disappointment.

Definitely one I want to keep on the shelf. I am now looking forward to buying the cask strength. I find myself wondering if that would fulfill my need for the finish that I want. If you get a chance I’d definitely recommend this. A pleasing Bourbon with the awards to match!

Awards:
Wine Enthusiast Magazine awarded Angel’s Envy 98/100 points – the highest-ever rating for a bourbon.

Received five stars (highest recommendation) from F. Paul Pacult’s Spirit Journal,

Recieved a 93 rating from Malt Advocate

Was named the 2013 Editor’s Top Pick Award Of Excellence by Beverage Industry News.

Recognized by Malt Advocate, The Bourbon Review and Maxim as one of the top spirits released in 2010.

I welcome your thoughts and opinions. Review suggestions are welcome.

Contact info can be found HERE and don’t forget to follow us on FACEBOOK and TWITTER!

Until Next Time,

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 22, 2016 in Bourbon, Reviews, whiskey

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment

 
Everything Kentucky!

This site is about the state of Kentucky, the people, places, history and happenings.

whiskyforager

Deals, worldwide.

Copper Run Distillery

Copper Run Distillery is the first legal distillery in the Ozark Mountains since the prohibition ended in 1933

the mashtun

malt's the wort

The Southern Lady Cooks

Southern cooking is just plain good home cooking!

dragonmoonshine

Put some fire in your belly...

bernardgwhisky

Drinks. Food. Sport. Politics. Random thoughts. And Manchester United.

ocdwhisky.com

Whisky reviews and thoughts

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Canuck Whisky Lover

a Canuck's thoughts and reviews on Whisky in all it's Glory

West Fork Whiskey Co.

Indiana Craft Whiskey Distillery

Contrafactual

That which is not true, but could be true under certain conditions.

Whiskey On The Rails

Two Guys Who Enjoy Tasting Whiskey, Smoking Cigars and Finding New Ways To Enjoy Both

The Damn Dram

Bad days good whisky

Highball Hoodoo

London, Cocktails, you know the drill

barelyenough

...too much good whisky is barely enough...

Beneath the Bung

A close look at the amazing drink of Single Malt Whisky.

DrinkingKAKIS

LIVE TO DRINK

Whisky & Comics

Drink responsibly, read recklessly

Joy, Love & Wanders

Love to Travel & Live to Love. Sharing Joy in the Wanders of Life.

Copper Moonshine Still

This Is How I Made My Copper Moonshine Still In My Back Yard