RSS

Review: W.L. Weller 12 year old

22 Jan
Review: W.L. Weller 12 year old

DISCLAIMER: The Sample for this review was purchased by me. All ideas and opinions in this post are entirely my own. I do not accept any money for these reviews.

Color: Copper

Nose: Sweet vanilla, pepper, citrus, fruit, and oak

Taste: OAK!

Finish: Short with just a hint of pepper

Score:
Rick: 5.0/10.0
Sam: 6.0/10.0
Overall: 5.5/10.0

Before we get to the review, I feel this needs a little backstory. I have been searching for this elusive bottle for the last 9 months. I have had the Weller Special Reserve, and the Old Weller Antique. I enjoyed both, and have been excited to get my hands on a Weller 12. My wife, who humors my passion, even came close to buying one for me for $150. I have been on message boards and Facebook groups watching for news. I couldn’t drive past a liquor store without stopping to see if they had any. It was an obsession.

Finally, I had seen where a few people had posted pictures of Weller 12 in the wild, for those of you not in the know, a bottle in the wild means found on a store shelf. So I went down to Tulsa and drug everyone to one liquor store after another looking for the bottle or rumors of the bottle. The 7th or 8th store pointed me towards a possible spot. They were out but had been told that it had been sighted for sure across town. A quick phone call and a mad dash across town, and I was the proud owner of two 1 liter bottles of Weller 12!

w12

The Hunt Is Over!

Now the bad news. I wasn’t impressed. I don’t know if it was the buildup, the anticipation, or just the fact that my palette has matured so much. It had great color, and a really nice nose. It tasted less than appealing. It was over oaked, that was the most dominant flavor. It smelled of sweetness but did not deliver and the finish was too short with a hint of pepper.

I’m glad I finally got to try it, but I’m even happier that I found a buyer for the second bottle. I wouldn’t turn it down, but I’ll never go in search of it again. I guess it is time to find my next elusive bottle.

Happy hunting everyone!

I welcome your thoughts and opinions. Review suggestions are welcome.

Contact info can be found HERE and don’t forget to follow us on FACEBOOK and TWITTER!

Until Next Time,

Slàinte Mhath!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 22, 2016 in Bourbon, Reviews, Uncategorized, whiskey

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment

 
Everything Kentucky!

This site is about the state of Kentucky, the people, places, history and happenings.

whiskyforager

Deals, worldwide.

Copper Run Distillery

Copper Run Distillery is the first legal distillery in the Ozark Mountains since the prohibition ended in 1933

the mashtun

malt's the wort

The Southern Lady Cooks

Southern cooking is just plain good home cooking!

dragonmoonshine

Put some fire in your belly...

bernardgwhisky

Drinks. Food. Sport. Politics. Random thoughts. And Manchester United.

ocdwhisky.com

Whisky reviews and thoughts

frankalrich

Community manager for ReviewCreep.com - Exposure Platform for Wordpress Review Bloggers

Canuck Whisky Lover

a Canuck's thoughts and reviews on Whisky in all it's Glory

West Fork Whiskey Co.

Indiana Craft Whiskey Distillery

Contrafactual

That which is not true, but could be true under certain conditions.

Whiskey On The Rails

Two Guys Who Enjoy Tasting Whiskey, Smoking Cigars and Finding New Ways To Enjoy Both

The Damn Dram

Bad days good whisky

Highball Hoodoo

London, Cocktails, you know the drill

barelyenough

...too much good whisky is barely enough...

Beneath the Bung

A close look at the amazing drink of Single Malt Whisky.

DrinkingKAKIS

LIVE TO DRINK

Whisky & Comics

Drink responsibly, read recklessly

Joy, Love & Wanders

Love to Travel & Live to Love. Sharing Joy in the Wanders of Life.

Copper Moonshine Still

This Is How I Made My Copper Moonshine Still In My Back Yard